8 BAFTA Rising Star Award Winners in the Last Eight Years

Untitled design 9
BAFTA Rising Star Award winners, Emma Mackey, Letitia Wright and Daniel Kaluuya

The upcoming BAFTA Film Awards show on February 18 has everyone excited, especially those in contention for the coveted BAFTA Rising Star Award. This category tends to make emerging talents a bit jittery as they assess their work in anticipation.

Over the years, the BAFTA Rising Star Award has been a stepping stone for many, and the 2024 nominees include Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Jacob Elordi, Mia McKenna-Bruce, and Sophie Wilde. As we eagerly await the announcement of the 2024 winner, Qonversations Culture invites you to join us on a journey through the last eight years of BAFTA Rising Star Award winners.

Emma Mackey (2023)

Emma Mackey is a French-British actress best known for her role as Maeve Wiley in the Netflix series “Sex Education.” She was born on January 4, 1996, in Le Mans, France. Emma Mackey’s performance as Maeve Wiley, a smart and independent high school student, received praise from both audiences and critics. The success of “Sex Education” helped elevate her profile in the entertainment industry. In 2023, she achieved the prestigious EE BAFTA Rising Star Award.

Lashana Lynch (2022)

Lashana Lynch, a renowned British actress with a notable presence in both film and television, was born on November 27, 1987, in London, England. Her breakthrough came with the role of Maria Rambeau in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) film “Captain Marvel,” which premiered in 2019. In 2019, Lynch garnered widespread attention when it was revealed that she would portray Nomi, a fellow MI6 agent, in the James Bond film “No Time to Die” (2021). Notably, she secured the EE BAFTA Rising Star Award in 2022, recognising her outstanding portrayal of the character ‘Nomi.’

Bukky Bakray (2021)

Bukky Bakray is a British actress known for her breakout role in the film “Rocks.” She was born on November 5, 2002, in London, England. “Rocks” is a 2019 British coming-of-age drama film directed by Sarah Gavron, and it follows the story of a teenage girl named Rocks who is left to fend for herself and her younger brother in London after their mother abandons them. Bukky Bakray received widespread acclaim for her performance in “Rocks,” and she gained recognition as a rising talent in the film industry. In 2021, she won the BAFTA Rising Star Award for her outstanding work in the film and was the youngest recipient of the award at 18.

Michael Ward (2020)

Michael Ward gained recognition for his performances in film and television. He was born on August 18, 1997, in Jamaica and later moved to London, England. Michael Ward rose to prominence for his role as Marco in the 2019 film “Blue Story,” a crime drama directed by Rapman. Ward’s breakout role and subsequent critical acclaim led to his nomination for the BAFTA Rising Star Award in 2020, an honour he went on to win.

Letitia Wright (2019)

Letitia Wright is a British-Guyanese actress who gained widespread recognition for her role as Shuri in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) film “Black Panther,” released in 2018. Her portrayal of Shuri, the sister of T’Challa (Black Panther), earned her praise for her charismatic and breakthrough performance. She reprised her role in other MCU films like “Avengers: Infinity War” (2018) and “Avengers: Endgame” (2019). In addition to her work in the MCU, Letitia Wright won the 2019 BAFTA Rising Star Award.

Daniel Kaluuya (2018)

Renowned for his outstanding work in film and television, Daniel Kaluuya, born on February 24, 1989, in London, England, shot to fame through his role as Chris Washington in the acclaimed horror film “Get Out.” Directed by Jordan Peele and released in 2017, Kaluuya’s performance garnered critical acclaim, earning him an Academy Award nomination for Best Actor. Remarkably, in 2018, he secured the BAFTA Rising Star Award for his exceptional contribution to “Get Out.”

Tom Holland (2017)

Thomas Stanley Holland, an English actor, has earned notable recognition, including a British Academy Film Award and three Saturn Awards. In 2019, he was listed on Forbes 30 Under 30 Europe. Tom Holland made his first appearance as Spider-Man, also known as Peter Parker, in the film “Captain America: Civil War” (2016). He continued to play the character in subsequent MCU films, including “Spider-Man: Homecoming” (2017), “Spider-Man: Far From Home” (2019), and other ensemble films like “Avengers: Infinity War” (2018) and “Avengers: Endgame” (2019). He won the 2017 BAFTA Rising Star Award.

John Boyega (2016)

John Boyega’s performance in “The Force Awakens” marked a significant milestone in his career, and he has since been involved in various other projects. He has demonstrated his acting versatility in films such as “Detroit” (2017) and “Pacific Rim: Uprising” (2018). He is highly recognised for his portrayal of Finn in the Star Wars sequel trilogy. The trilogy includes “Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens” (2015), “Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi” (2017), and “Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker” (2019). He won the EE Rising Star Award at the 2016 BAFTA Film Awards.

More from Qonversations


b99268ab a4e0 4425 b978 24966df64d76

Morocco becomes Africa’s gateway to Cuban art in landmark exhibition


i stock 1287493837 1

Is Video Game Violence A Harmful Desensitisation or Cathartic Release?


Capture 23

8 Mindful Morning Rituals to Start Your Day Right


Top 5 VOD platforms for Online Video Hosting 1600x840 fb

Are Video Streaming Services Empowering or Homogenising Entertainment?