The Stage is set: Unveiling the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup details

As the excitement builds in the footballing world, here's what you need to know about the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup, an international tournament set to unfold in the beautiful landscapes of Australia and New Zealand.

shutterstock 2295610223 Large
FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 trophy

The Women’s World Cup 2023: Kick-off dates

This year’s prestigious event is scheduled to commence on July 20 and will span across an action-packed month, ending on August 20. The tournament will initiate with a Group A face-off between the co-hosts, New Zealand, and Norway.

Participating Teams: A global gathering

The tournament this year is a gathering of 32 global teams, divided into eight groups, each comprising four teams. These are:

Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia (hosts), Canada, Nigeria, Ireland

Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia

Group D: China, Denmark, England, Haiti

Group E: Netherlands, Portugal, United States, Vietnam

Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, Panama

Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden

Group H: Colombia, Germany, South Korea, Morocco

Stunning venues: A blend of tradition and modernity

The Women’s World Cup will be played across ten stadiums located in both Australia and New Zealand. In Australia, matches will be held at Lang Park, Hindmarsh Stadium, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Perth Oval, Stadium Australia, and Sydney Football Stadium. Meanwhile, the games in New Zealand will take place at Dunedin Stadium, Eden Park, Waikato Stadium, and Wellington Regional Stadium.

The largest of these venues, Stadium Australia, boasting a seating capacity of 70,000, is set to host the highly anticipated final match.

The tournament schedule: A journey to the final

A round-robin format will characterise the group stage where each of the 32 teams will play three matches. A win will award teams with three points, while a draw will yield one point. The final group stage match is to be played on August 3.

The top two teams from each group will then progress to the round of 16. The thrill of the knockout rounds begins on August 5, with one-off matches that could extend into extra time and possibly penalties to decide the victorious team.

Climax of the tournament: The final showdown

Football fans around the globe should mark Sunday, August 20 in their calendars as the day of the grand finale. The final match will be held at Stadium Australia in Sydney, where the world will witness the crowning of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Champions.

All eyes are now on these competing teams as they prepare to showcase their skills and passion on the global stage. As we approach kick-off, the question remains – who will claim victory in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup?

More from Qonversations


shutterstock 1644293686 Large

Man United on the verge of sacking another manager, sparking another ‘domino’ effect


20240213 231424

Ghanaians hit the streets for #SaveGhanaFootball protest


Everything you need to know about the Asian Cup


2023 11 18T142413Z 1020680121 RC2NF4ALX6E1 RTRMADP 3 CRICKET WORLDCUP INDIA 1

India and Australia begin T20 series after intense World Cup encounter

Front of mind