Angola is granting visa-free entry to citizens of 98 nations

shutterstock 2215752465 Large
The Embassy of the Republic of Angola

Angola has recently joined the expanding group of African nations that now permit visa-free entry. This new policy, approved in a resolution just last week, grants nationals from more than 90 countries the ability to enter the country without a visa for stays of up to 90 days.

President Joao Lourenco, through a Presidential Decree, has also instructed the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to inform the eligible countries about this exemption from tourist visas. The 90-day visa-free stay is specifically intended for individuals coming to Angola for tourism purposes.

This development coincides with Angola’s efforts to boost its tourism sector by opening its borders to visitors from a wide range of countries. 14 African nations, including Tanzania, Eswatini, Morocco, Lesotho, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Equatorial Guinea, Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Seychelles, Cape Verde, and Algeria, are among the countries on the list for visa-free entry. South Africans have not required visas to visit Angola since December 2017 due to an abolition agreement between the two nations.

Angola, being the second-largest oil producer in Africa, boasts a variety of famous tourist attractions, including the National Museum of Slavery, tropical Atlantic beaches, the Sub-Saharan Namib desert, and numerous rivers.

Europe has 35 countries on the list, such as Turkey, Russia, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, the Vatican State, the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, Hungary, the Netherlands, Monaco, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Great Britain and Ireland. Other European nations on the list are Norway, Estonia, Finland, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Slovakia, France, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Cyprus, Slovenia, Iceland, Italy, and Portugal.

In the Americas, the countries mentioned on the list include the USA, Mexico, Argentina, Canada, Chile, Panama, Uruguay, and Brazil.

From the Oceania region, the countries eligible for 90-day visa-free entry to Angola are Fiji, Australia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Niue Island.

In the Caribbean and Pacific region, 16 countries are selected: Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Cook Islands, Jamaica, Kiribati, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

More from Qonversations


Cyril Ramaphosa 2nd term

#TrendsArena: Mixed reactions as Ramaphosa begins second term


Mahlengi Bhengu Motsiri

ANC targets national unity government following failure to security majority in parliament


1694253914 modi bharat Large

The Indian elections: a summary


KwaZulu Natal no water

Why the ANC has become unpopular among KwaZulu-Natal residents

Front of mind