32 Atlantic nations commit to environmental and economic cooperation

shutterstock 2204764735 Large

The United States has initiated a cooperative agreement with numerous countries bordering the Atlantic Ocean in Europe, Africa, and the Americas. Termed the “Partnership for Atlantic Cooperation,” this agreement was reached during the UN General Assembly meetings in New York, just before US President Joe Biden’s scheduled address to the global assembly.

The document was signed by the Governments of Angola, Argentina, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Iceland, Ireland, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Spain, Togo, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Uruguay. 

This initiative is part of the White House’s efforts to enhance relations with developing nations and secure financial support for them, with the goal of providing an alternative to China’s growing global economic influence and infrastructure investments. This move aims to strengthen economic, environmental, and scientific connections across the Atlantic region.

Additionally, it follows criticism from certain countries that the US has disproportionately focused on supporting Ukraine, both economically and strategically, compared to countries in the “global south” dealing with significant challenges related to the COVID-19 pandemic, climate change, high interest rates, and international debt.

The Atlantic pact does not include security or military components and is not intended as a supplement or addition to NATO, which encompasses North Atlantic and European nations. However, it does involve a commitment to ensuring that Atlantic countries remain “free from interference, coercion, or aggressive action” and guarantees “sovereign equality, territorial integrity, and political independence.”

The US administration noted that the idea of strengthening cooperation among Atlantic coastal countries predates Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine and signifies the acknowledgment that countries in the North and South Atlantic have been treated as separate entities for too long.

This partnership will be coordinated by the foreign ministries of the participating countries, enabling them to better address common “transnational” issues such as illegal fishing, natural disasters, and illicit trafficking, as outlined in a White House fact sheet accompanying the announcement.

More from Qonversations



Alexey Navalny’s memoire set to be published in October


2024 04 04T153711Z 1137932913 RC2JZT9VO1QE RTRMADP 3 MEXICO TOURISM

These are the new EU rules for Booking and Airbnb that you should know


shutterstock 2142959989 Large

The human brain increases from generation to generation – Study


Canada wildfire

How Canada braces for another catastrophic wildfire season

Front of mind